Historic Preservation

Back to Blog January 22, 2015

American Institute of Architecture elects Tyler Architecture Alumni: Denise Thompson and Brian Szymanik

Author: Anonymous
Denise Thompson and Brian Szymanik

Written by Stephanie Haller, BS Arch '15

With the new year off to a start, the AIA has recently elected new board members which includes two Temple Architecture Alumni.

Denise Thompson, AIA, LEED AP, BD + C, chosen as the President Elect has been active member of the AIA Philadelphia community since beginning her career in the architecture field. Prior to her current position as President Elect, she held the titles of both the Philadelphia Director (2010-2014) and Regional Associate Director (2006-2008) on the AIA board. She has also been an associate of local Philadelphia Architecture firm, Francis Cauffman since 2003.

Brian Szymanik, AIA LEED AP, recently elected as the Chapter Director of Philadelphia’s AIA is also a member of the Temple Architecture Faculty. He is one of two co-founders and principal of the design and planning firm, MAKE llc. He previously was a member of both the Marywood University and Philadelphia University Architecture faculties.

Both of these registered architects accepted the Philadelphia Young Architect Award at the AIA ceremony in October 2013. This award is given to architects “between the ages of 25 and 39, who displays excellence and promise of future merit in design excellence, practice, education, or service.” (AIA Philadelphia)