Fibers & Material Studies

Back to Blog April 8, 2015

Lindsay Bain featured in Alumni Exhibition, Victory For Tyler

Author: Anonymous
Exhibition Postcard

April 1, 2015 - April 26, 2015

OPENING RECEPTION:  Saturday, April 11, 2015, 6 - 8 p.m.

Crane Arts, 1400 North American Street, Philadelphia

Register/RSVP at

2015 Victory for Tyler Juror:  Anthony Elms

Anthony Elms joined ICA as Associate Curator in 2011. He organized White Petals Surround Your Yellow Heart (2013) which presented the work of artists engaged with clothing, adornment, and self-presentation, and served as the organizing curator for Stefan Sagmeister The Happy Show (2012). He is also a writer and editor of the publishing imprint WhiteWalls Inc. Elms’s writings have appeared in AfterallArt Asia PacificArt PapersArtforumCakewalkMay RevueModern PaintersNew Art Examiner, and Time Out Chicago. He has written essays for many catalogues and edited collections including Cosey Complex (Koenig Books) and the forthcoming Irena Knezevic: Here Comes the Darkness (Illinois State University). He has independently curated many exhibitions, including:Interstellar Low Ways (with Huey Copeland); A Unicorn Basking in the Light of Three Glowing Suns (with Philip von Zweck); and Sun Ra, El Saturn & Chicago’s Afro-Futurist Underground, 1954-61 (with John Corbett and Terri Kapsalis), which traveled to ICA in 2009. Having received both a BFA and MFA, as an artist, Elms has been included in projects exhibited at Gahlberg Gallery (Glen Ellyn), Mandrake (Los Angeles), Randolph Street Gallery (Chicago), and VONZWECK (Chicago), among other places. Previously he worked at Gallery 400 at the University of Illinois at Chicago, and before that the Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago. He was a co-curator of the 2014 Whitney Biennial.

2015 Victory for Tyler Artists

Lindsey Bain, MFA 2011, Fibers and Materials Studies; Paula Cahill, BFA 2009, Painting; Lyla Duey, BFA 2010, Painting; Raphael Fenton-Spaid, BS 2008/MFA 2014, Art Education/Painting; Cheryl Harper, BFA 1988, Printmaking; Ken Hill, BFA 2007, Painting; Alexa Hoyer, MFA 2005, Sculpture; Terrance James, BA 2011, Art; Carmichael Jones, BFA 2013, Glass; Kerry Kolenut, MFA 2009, Photography; James Labold, BFA 2004, Glass; Carla Lombardi, MFA 1995, Ceramics; Fabian Lopez, MFA 2009, Painting; Gabriel Martinez, MFA 1991, Photography; Colleen McCubbin Stepanic, MFA 2003, Painting; Angela McQuillan, BFA 2010, Painting; Nathaniel Mell, BFA 2012, Glass; Amanda Nardone, BFA 2014, Glass; Jacqueline Nowakowski, BFA 2013, Sculpture; Carol Petino, BFA, 1982, Painting; Heather Phillips, BFA 2008, Photography; Nicole Salnikov, BS 2014, Architecture; Kirsten Ullrich, MFA 2005, Painting

Victory for Tyler is a biennial, juried exhibition organized by the Tyler Alumni Association in partnership with the Tyler School of Art and Temple University.

The exhibition is hosted at the Icebox gallery at the Crane Arts building. The Icebox Project Space, a single, uninterrupted 5,000 square-foot room, is located in the Crane Company Building at 1400 North American Street in Philadelphia. It is the largest and one of the most exclusive gallery spaces in the Philadelphia region. For additional information on Victory for Tyler please contact Molly Clark Davis, Director of Alumni Relations at 215.926.2226 or

Victory for Tyler Sponsors

Special thanks to Victory Brewing Company, Crane Arts and PECO for their support of Victory for Tyler.         

Past jurors have included

2013 – Victory for All; Juror Paulina Pobocha
2011 – Works on Paper; Juror Robert Storr and Posters; Juror Luba Lukova
2009 – Sculpture; Juror Sarina Basta
2007 – Painting; Juror Jenelle Porter