Letter to Alumni

The 2016 spring semester is upon us with exciting news.

The department is pleased to announce the new Division of Architecture and Environmental Design. The new division brings the Community and Regional Planning Department, the Landscape Architecture and Horticulture Department and the Center for Sustainable Communities together with the Architecture Department within the Tyler School of Art.  The division builds on the academic synergies that exist between built and natural design disciplines that will spur curricular development and offer new opportunities for collaboration.

Professor Kate Wingert-Playdon has been appointed as the first Associate Dean of the division.  Professor Wingert-Playdon, former Department Chair, is an accomplished scholar in cultural landscapes who brings significant leadership and administrative experience to her post. Professor Rashida Ng has been appointed as the new Chair of the Architecture Department.  Professor Ng has been teaching at Tyler Architecture for nearly eleven years and conducts research in the area of emerging materials and technologies.


Student News

We are pleased to announce the Master of Architecture students who have received scholarships and awards during the 2015-2016 year.
Jacalyn Prasnikar, M Arch’16 has received the Daria Chentsova Scholarship, which is award to a student who has demonstrated extraordinary creativity, talent and determination to succeed in the field of architecture.

Laura Schmitt-Hall, M Arch’16, is the recipient of the John J. Olivieri Scholarship, which is awarded to a student who has demonstrated resilience through the intangible qualities of eagerness, persistence, enthusiasm and a dedication to experimentation within the studio environment.  Laura also received the Jacob and Sheila Riz Memorial Travel Award. She will be traveling to Portland, San Francisco and Los Angeles to conduct research on the impact of public transit in each city and will propose methods to increase transit use in America.

Shenikka Grant, M Arch ’17 was awarded the John Christopher Knowles Travel Award. She will be traveling to Greece this summer to conduct research that focuses on making the connections between time and value in a country filled with urban scars, in particular their use of interim spaces as part of their narrative for cities in Greece.


Alumni News

Congratulations are in order for alumnus David Mark Riz '85, partner at Kieran Timberlake, who has been elected to The American Institute of Architects’ prestigious College of Fellows.

Alumni Firm, Kimmel Brogrette Architecture + Site has opened LaSalle University’s new School of Business building.  Alumni principals Jim Bogrette '89 and Martin Kimmel '90 designed the 6-story, 87,000 square foot iconic building that opened in January this year.


Upcoming Events

Join us for “Building the 21st Century Library,” the second lecture of a four-part series of events co-sponsored by the Division of Architecture and Environmental Design and Temple University Libraries.  This lecture will explore the material processes behind Temple’s new library building designed by world-renowned architectural firm, Snøhetta. The program is open to the public and will be held on Wednesday, April 6th at the Temple Performing Arts Center, 1837 N. Broad Street. Doors will open at 5:00 pm with light refreshments and the program begins at 6pm. Click here for more information.

Save the date!  During the AIA Convention, Tyler Architecture is hosting “A Current Look at Temple,” an Alumni Lecture and Reception on campus, Thursday, May 19th, 4 – 7pm.  Additional details and registration will be available in early spring at www.alumni.temple.edu/architectureevent2016.


Interested in serving on student reviews?  Please contact Emily Furlong, Professional Programs Administrator, at emily.furlong@temple.edu.

To receive current news and information from the department and university, please update your e-mail address by visiting - www.alumni.temple.edu.


Once again on behalf of the Department, thank you for your support and please stay in touch!

Rashida Ng
Department Chair and Associate Professor • Architecture